Spaz (Honkey Sensei Chronicles 1)

Tonight I shall tell you of Spaz.  That’s a nickname of course and I use them to protect the innocent.  It’s not their fault I find their adventures so amusing. 

Spaz is one of my all time favorite students.  I was her teacher twice.  First when she was 3 and then again when she was 6.  She is an amazing girl who always knew how to light up a room.

It’s funny for me thinking about it because she wasn’t a great student as far as learning was concerned.   She was not a star student in that way.  What she lacked in academics though she made up 100 fold in personality and heart.  

Spaz was that rare student who always ran in the middle of the pack but that didn’t bother me.  It didn’t make me want to push her.  She did her best and she was what she was.  Nothing broken means nothing to fix.

I always found myself pulling for her, understood and forgave her mistakes instantly and never once did the thought, “this is a student I need to worry about,” cross my mind.  

Spaz graduated last year and I think of her often.  She was that kid that always made you smile when they showed up to class.  I loved being her teacher.

All that said I will tell you a funny story that totally encapsulates who Spaz was.  

Spaz was a tomboy.  She loved playing with the boys.  She always spent her time running.  This also meant she spent the majority of her time falling down.  The girl fell down more than a newborn fawn on roller skates. 

That is not the funny part though.  

The funny part came on the day I taught the kids how to play the version of freeze tag that I played as a kid.  This was the version where, when you got tagged, you had to stop on the spot and stand with your legs apart until someone came and crawled under them to, “thaw” you.  

Spaz loved this game.

She was also a huge competitor. 

She did not like to be frozen.

So there she was one day, standing in the blazing heat of the humid Osaka summer with a frilly black skirt on waiting on a hero to come and save her.  

How did she go about this you ask?  

By first looking discretely to her left and then to her right to ensure that the dreaded ‘it’ was nowhere in sight.  

Then she beconed the closest boy over to her, raised her skirt up, and said in a near panic, 

“No one is looking, quick, get inside!!” 

All the while she is pointing at her Who-who.  

To make matters worse her savior was reluctant.  He wasn’t sold on the safety of the situation. 

“Get in here right now!” She shouted.  

That only made her knight feel intimidated. 

“I need you!” She shouts.  “Please.  I am freezing. Save me and get in here!  Now!”  

At some point I should have stopped her but what would the point have been?  To teach a 6 year old about shame?  If you could have seen the absolute elation on her face you wouldn’t have gotten in the middle either.  

I told her mother about it and her mom asked her to show her what she does when someone freezes her.  Spaz obliged and her mother nearly cried from laughter.  

Spaz laughed too.  Because she’s young and that’s what being young is all about.  Laughing and being silly.  Sometimes it’s also about getting the boys to crawl under your crotch by any means necessary. 

I love you Spaz.  You are a beautiful girl and I enjoyed every moment of being your teacher.

4 thoughts on “Spaz (Honkey Sensei Chronicles 1)

  1. drwage says:

    Oh my Lordy, this is too funny. “No one is looking! Get inside!” “I need you! Get in here!” Ahh, you must’ve been just dying. Of course, you can’t say anything, you’re right… why? She sounds perfect. =)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Teaching always delivers on clumsy yet unforgettable moments. I could not have dreamed of a more fulfilling use of my time. It seems like you feel the same way 🙂 Nice to meet you, Jonathan, dear fellow blogger, teacher and writer! I wish you a fantastic love-filled day in Japan with your beloved family and your fun-loving students.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

